The Engagement

Speak now or forever rest in peace . . . 
THE PERFECT FIANCÉ.

When Victoria’s best friend Gwen announces she is marrying the rich and handsome Michael, celebrations are strained. Victoria doesn’t trust Michael – he’s hiding something. And he reminds her of someone she needs to forget.
THE DREAM WEDDING PLAN.

Too loved up to see Michael’s dark side, Gwen drags Victoria into a whirlwind of dress shopping, engagement drinks and elaborate maid-of-honour duties. Meanwhile, a mysterious visitor is leaving unwanted gifts in Victoria’s home, and Michael is becoming aggressive: no one gets between me and Gwen.

TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE?
The clock is ticking until the big day. Will Victoria expose Michael’s secret, and save her best friend from a marriage made in hell? Or will her past catch up with her first?

About the author

Nasheema Lennon is a writer of Mauritian heritage based in Nottingham. She studied psychology and criminology at university before nine years working in the prison service, where she facilitated cognitive behavioural therapy programmes. She then changed paths to complete her PGCE, becoming a primary school teacher. Her first novel, The Engagement, was shortlisted for the Owned Voices Novel Award 2022.

*THE UNMISSABLE DEBUT THRILLER FOR FANS OF T.M. LOGAN, TAMMY COHEN AND CAROLINE KEPNES*

*SHORTLISTED FOR THE OWNED VOICES NOVEL AWARD 2022*

Read More

Why We Like It

  • ‘I bounced through this page turner. A pacy debut that ensnares’ ADELE PARKS, #1 Sunday Times bestselling author of Both of You
  • ‘Utterly gripping from cover to cover. Nasheema Lennon has announced her arrival with an absolutely stonking thriller. I didn’t want it to end!’ JONATHAN WHITELAW, author of The Bingo Hall Detectives
  • ‘Nasheema Lennon’s rare psychological insight creates a creeping tension in The Engagement that you can’t shake. Her acute observation draws you into each of her characters’ lives with a natural empathy.’ IRUM FAZAL, director of the Asian Women Writers mentorship scheme

Reader reviews:

  • ‘Awesome twists . . . OMG it was wonderful’
  • ‘Nasheema Lennon looks certain to have a bright future ahead of her’
  • ‘A perfect wee read for these dark and cosy nights’
  • ‘The story had me page-turning like mad, and the end . . . Let’s just say I was pretty shocked!’

Nasheema Lennon is a writer of Mauritian heritage based in Nottingham. She studied psychology and criminology at university before nine years working in the prison service, where she facilitated cognitive behavioural therapy programmes. She then changed paths to complete her PGCE, becoming a primary school teacher. Her first novel, The Engagement, was shortlisted for the Owned Voices Novel Award 2022.

How it works

The book will be delivered in 10 instalments (or staves), one every day. The instalments are delivered to your Pigeonhole bookshelf on your IOS or Android app. You will receive an email letting you know when each stave is available.

We believe that shared reading leads to new ideas and connections. That’s why we have a dynamic commenting system which allows in-text discussion between our readers. Post a comment and all your fellow readers will be able to respond. You can also choose to receive notifications (customise them here) when someone responds to your comment, or, additionally, whenever a comment is left in the book.

As you read you will see round purple icons at the edge of certain paragraphs – tap on these to reveal behind-the-scenes extra content!

Links will be included at the end of the final stave which will allow you to leave reviews on Amazon and Goodreads.  
This book will be removed from the platform 14 days after the final stave.

Any questions? Drop us a line on laurence@pigeonholepublishing.com.

If you encounter any problems when reading on the app, please log out/in again. If this doesn't fix your issue, please reinstall the app. These simple steps will solve the majority of issues.

1. CHOOSE WHO
TO READ WITH

Join our commmunity of readers or read with friends in your own private book club.

2. PICK A BOOK
 

And read it in bite-sized instalments – called staves – that fit busy modern lives.

3. HIGHLIGHT AND DISCUSS
 

Save your favourite bits and leave thoughts to connect with fellow readers.

4. GET BEHIND
THE STORY

Beautiful extras in the margins immerse you in the world of each book.

More about us