Dead Man's Grave

This grave can never be opened.
The head of Scotland’s most powerful crime family is brutally murdered, his body dumped inside an ancient grave in a remote cemetery.

This murder can never be forgotten.
Detectives Max Craigie and Janie Calder arrive at the scene, a small town where everyone has secrets to hide. They soon realise this murder is part of a blood feud between two Scottish families that stretches back to the 1800s. One thing’s for certain: it might be the latest killing, but it won’t be the last…

This killer can never be caught.
As the body count rises, the investigation uncovers large-scale corruption at the heart of the Scottish Police Service. Now Max and Janie must turn against their closest colleagues – to solve a case that could cost them far more than just their lives…

Don’t miss the first stunning thriller in the new DS Max Craigie Scottish Crime series!

About the author

After fifteen years working as a Detective, Neil Lancaster doesn’t need to do research. He lived it, and now he’s ready to tell you about it…

Read More

Why We Like It

  1. ‘Grabbed me from the first page’ - Ian Rankin
  2. ‘The best police procedural I’ve read in years’ - Jane Casey
  3. ‘A thriller writer set to blow up the bestseller lists’ - C. L. Taylor
  4. ‘I was hooked from the start of this atmospheric, nail-biting, rollercoaster of a read – organised crime, police procedure and a race against time. Perfect for Line of Duty fans’ - Steph Broadribb
  5. 'An incredible piece of work. Great storytelling, pacy and written with such a sense of place. The characters leap off the page’  - Chris MacDonald
  6. ‘Compelling from beginning to end … the whole thing just sings with authenticity on every page … a top-draw thriller!’ - John Barlow

Neil Lancaster is the No.1 Audible bestselling author of the Tom Novak series. He served in the RAF as a Military Policeman, in the UK, Germany, Cyprus and the Falkland Islands, and he worked for the Metropolitan Police as a Detective, investigating serious crimes in the capital and beyond. As a covert policing specialist, he used a variety of tactics to obtain evidence against murderers, human traffickers, drug dealers and fraudsters.

Neil now lives in the Scottish Highlands, writes crime and thriller novels and works as a broadcaster and commentator on true crime documentaries. He is a key expert on two Sky Crime TV series, Meet, Marry, Murder and Made for Murder.

How it works

The book will be delivered in 10 instalments (or staves), one every day. The instalments are delivered to your Pigeonhole bookshelf on your IOS or Android app. You will receive an email letting you know when each stave is available.

We believe that shared reading leads to new ideas and connections. That’s why we have a dynamic commenting system which allows in-text discussion between our readers. Post a comment and all your fellow readers will be able to respond. You can also choose to receive notifications (customise them here) when someone responds to your comment, or, additionally, whenever a comment is left in the book.

As you read you will see round purple icons at the edge of certain paragraphs – tap on these to reveal behind-the-scenes extra content!

Links will be included at the end of the final stave which will allow you to leave reviews on Amazon and Goodreads.  
This book will be removed from the platform 14 days after the final stave.

Any questions? Drop us a line on

If you encounter any problems when reading on the app, please log out/in again. If this doesn't fix your issue, please reinstall the app. These simple steps will solve the majority of issues.


Join our commmunity of readers or read with friends in your own private book club.


And read it in bite-sized instalments – called staves – that fit busy modern lives.


Save your favourite bits and leave thoughts to connect with fellow readers.


Beautiful extras in the margins immerse you in the world of each book.

More about us