The House on Half Moon Street

How can you find the truth when everything around you is a lie? 

In Victorian London, Leo Stanhope's life revolves around death - as the assistant to a feted coroner, cadavers are an everyday feature. But when the body of Maria, the woman Leo loves, is found murdered, all eyes are on him. Desperate to find her killer and prove his innocence, Leo must also protect a devastating secret - that he was born Charlotte, a respectable Reverend's daughter, and ran away from home at fifteen.

In a city where nothing is as it seems, Leo must travel deep into the turbulent underworld of 1890s London to uncover the truth before it is too late - and every day the stakes are getting higher...

Part of Bloomsbury's new Raven Books imprint that specialises in bright new crime thriller writing – for those who like their books done on the dark side! Pre-order the hardback here.


About the author

Alex Reeve was born in Twickenham and now lives in Marlow, Buckinghamshire with his wife and two sons. He is a University Lecturer and is working intermittently on his PhD.

Read More

Why We Like It

  • Perfect for fans of The Crimson Petal and the White, Tipping the Velvet and The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock.
  • The first in a new series of Victorian-set thrillers, this transporting and intoxicating debut will have you hooked from the first page. 
  • 'Everything you want from a novel - a wonderfully-evoked setting, a fascinating cast of characters, a plot that turns the pages for you and beautiful, intricate writing.' - William Ryan, bestselling author of The Korolev Series.

The Author

Alex Reeve was born in Twickenham and now lives in Marlow, Buckinghamshire with his wife and two sons. He is a University Lecturer and is working intermittently on his PhD.

The House on Half Moon Street is the first in a Victorian crime series featuring Leo Stanhope, and will be published by Bloomsbury in May 2018. The character of Leo was born when Alex came across an article about transgender people in Victorian England, and he was amazed to see how little had changed.

How it works

The book will be delivered in 10 instalments (or staves), one every day. The instalments are delivered to your Pigeonhole bookshelf on your IOS or Android app, plus you can read on our web reader. You will receive an email letting you know when each stave is available.

We believe that shared reading leads to new ideas and connections. That’s why we have a dynamic commenting system which allows in-text discussion between our readers. Post a comment and all your fellow readers will be able to respond. You can also choose to receive notifications (customise them here) when someone responds to your comment, or, additionally, whenever a comment is left in the book.

As you read you will see round purple icons at the edge of certain paragraphs – tap on these to reveal behind-the-scenes extra content!

We kindly ask that you help us spread the brilliance of this book and support the author by leaving an Amazon review at the end the serialisation. The full book will be available on your Pigeonhole bookshelf for one month for you to read at your leisure. 

Any questions? Drop us a line on laurence@pigeonholepublishing.com.

1. CHOOSE WHO
TO READ WITH

Join our commmunity of readers or read with friends in your own private book club.

2. PICK A BOOK
 

And read it in bite-sized instalments – called staves – that fit busy modern lives.

3. HIGHLIGHT AND DISCUSS
 

Save your favourite bits and leave thoughts to connect with fellow readers.

4. GET BEHIND
THE STORY

Beautiful extras in the margins immerse you in the world of each book.

More about us